Mid-Service Year Reflections: My favorite AmeriCorps memory so far…

Finally… My First Patient!

By Jessica Koren, Community HealthCorps Navigator from Hudson River Healthcare, Inc.

One of my main assignments as a Community HealthCorps Navigator at Hudson River Healthcare is to be a health coach for the Chronic Conditions project. The focus of this project is to help patients with hypertension and diabetes better understand their condition and set self management goals. As a health coach, I have one-on-one meetings with patients to help them work towards their health care goals.

The other Navigators and I were eager to meet the project’s patients and get started with our coaching. We had undergone training with a provider at the health center, and were ready to put our skills into action. We were given a list of patients that were hypertensive and non-compliant, meaning their blood pressure was out of control because they were not adhering to their treatment plan. We were each assigned patients to call and invite to be a part of this program.

As I started calling patients, I realized this process would have some challenges. Some of the patients were difficult to reach by phone, and some were simply not interested in a program such as this. I managed to find a few patients who wanted to participate, and we set up our first meetings.

It was the day before my first meeting with a patient and I called her to confirm her appointment the next day at 9am. I waited for her in our designated meeting spot, and after 40 minutes of waiting, I knew she was not going to come. I called her to see what happened, and she said she had to cancel. I was a little disappointed because I had prepared for our meeting and was looking forward to meeting her, but I didn’t let it get to me and hoped the next appointment would work out better.

The following week was my next appointment with a different patient. Just like for the first patient, I confirmed our meeting time and location for the next morning. I was waiting for her to arrive, and after 30 minutes, the patient was still a no-show. When I called her, she told me she didn’t feel like coming today. This time, I was even more disappointed because two patients didn’t attend their scheduled meetings. I had a lot of great information and knowledge to share, but no one to share it with. My fellow Navigators were experiencing the same problem as well—their patients were not showing up either, and we were all unsure of why this was happening. I was glad to have my fellow Navigators for support, and we bounced ideas off of one another to try to move past this hold up and keep the program moving forward.

About a week later, I was given the name of a third patient who was interested in participating in our program. I was so excited and called her right away to set up an appointment. As it turns out, she was coming back to the health center the next day, and I suggested that we coordinate a brief meeting to get to know one another. She really liked that idea, and told me she would give me a call when her appointment was finished.

Based on my previous two experiences, I thought the patient may not show up. I was just finishing up my lunch when all of the sudden, my phone rang. I jumped up to answer it, and it was at that moment that I was proved wrong. She called! Our initial meeting went as planned, and I walked away from the health center with a huge smile on my face. We had a great conversation, and this patient was motivated to change. We talked about what specific aspects of her healthcare she would like to focus on, and set goals for our sessions in the future. This meeting exemplified the mission of the Chronic Conditions project and I felt, for the first time, what it’s like to have a direct impact on someone. She walked away with a smile on her face as well, eager for her coaching to begin, and I knew we would have a successful relationship in the upcoming months as patient and health coach!

About Community HealthCorps

Founded in 1995 by the National Association of Community Health Centers, Community HealthCorps is the largest health-focused, national AmeriCorps program that promotes health care for America's underserved, while developing tomorrow's health care workforce. The mission of the Community HealthCorps is to improve health care access and enhance workforce development for community health centers through national service programs. The vision of Community HealthCorps is to become a national service pipeline for careers in community health centers that is improving access to necessary primary and preventative care services for the medically underserved. For the program year 2013-2014, 500 Community HealthCorps Members will serve full-time through nearly 40 partner organizations and three affiliate organizations at more than 300 delivery sites across 17 states, and the District of Columbia. Community HealthCorps Members (through AmeriCorps) perform a variety of activities associated with health services and programs for patients and community, often by functioning as community health workers (CHWs).
This entry was posted in America, AmeriCorps, at-risk, CDC, Community, Community Health Center, community healthcorps, diabetes, disease, health, Health Center, health department, healthcorps, national service, New York, Nonprofit, nutrition, prepare, Prevention, service, Social work, teach, volunteer, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mid-Service Year Reflections: My favorite AmeriCorps memory so far…

  1. Air Max says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web page and
    thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see
    so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.

Leave a Reply

